Chocolate , toffee and peanut squares

Image

These squares are my new favourite food, the only problem being I can’t stop eating them, I want them for breakfast, brunch, dinner basically I have got addicted to them. One of my guilty pleasures in life is a jar of dulce de leche, thick toffee like sauce, just put your finger inside take a generous dollop out and just lick ummmm…. I am in heaven. I always keep a few in my kitchen but alas! I was not left with any today and so I decided to make some at home as I have read we need to boil unopened tins of condensed milk for 2 hours, I put my tins in hot boiling water but I was so petrified that the tins would burst that out of stress I just took them out in half an hour so no dulce de leche 😦 but I used condensed milk instead and these bars tasted amazing still. My friends polished of my first batch within few minutes and the second batch also dwindled shortly but I know these would have tasted a zillion times won’t say better but i guess better with dulce de leche I can say so as I have made these with the real stuff, dulce de leche adds another dimension to these bars they are more caramely( i don’t think thats even a word ), toffee tasting so please if you can lay your hands on a jar of dulce de leche or for that matter even condensed milk just make these.

Image

Image

INGREDIENTS

100g caster sugar

200g butter, softened and diced

300g self – raising flour, sifted

400ml dulce de leche or boiled condensed milk

125g salted peanuts, roughly chopped

200g milk chocolate, broken into pieces

Preheat the oven to 180 degree centigrade and line the base of a swiss roll tin with baking parchment.

Whiz together the sugar, butter and flour in a food processor for the short bread base until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs. Or you could alternatively rub together the butter and flour in a bowl with your fingertips and stir in the sugar. Tip the shortbread mixture into the prepaid tin and press down with your hands to level out the mixture.

Place in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown all over, then remove from the oven and allow to cool in the tin completely.

Once cool, spread over the dulce de leche to cover the shortbread and press the roughly chopped peanuts into it, making sure they are evenly distributed.(I did keep my tray in the refrigerator for half an hour after pouring over the dulce de leche and covering it evenly with chopped peanuts as i feel it gets easier to spread the chocolate over it later).

Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water and allow it to melt, remove from the heat and pour it over the peanut studded dulce de leche, allowing it to cool then leave it in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours or for as long as possible or if you are greedy like me put it in the freezer for an hour and once set cut into squares and serve. Let the joy be shared.

ENJOY…..

A Rachel Allen recipe.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate , toffee and peanut squares

Leave a Reply

