Chewy, Chunky Blondies

Image

Its been so many days since I posted any recipe, but I have been so sick I just could not get myself out of bed. I am much-much better now and I have been dying to eat blondies for these past few days and now that I am better I just had to have them. Chunky, chewy, nutty, coconutty and chocolaty with a rich butterscotch flavour these blondes are just the way they should be. They look like overgrown toll house cookie, with there bumpy tops and incredibly bumpy middles these are delicious. With more chunky add ins than batter these are great for anyone who loves being surprised bite after bite.

My friends absolutely love these and so does my family, they are great with ice cream but I love them as it is and I am  eating them since morning somebody please get them out of my house but no seriously I will go on a diet from tomorrow till then let me be in bliss.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all – purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

6 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped into chips or 1 cup store bought chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

Preheat the oven to a 180 degree centigrade and butter a 9 x 13 inch baking pan and put it on a baking sheet.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, beat the butter on medium speed with hand held mixer until smooth and creamy. Add both the sugars and beat for another 3 minutes, or until well incorporated. Add the eggs one by one, beating for a minute after each addition, then beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing just until they disappear into the batter. Using a rubber spatula stir in the chips, nuts and coconut. Scrape the batter into the buttered pan and use the spatula to even the  top.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the centre of the blondies come out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 10 minutes before turning the blondes out onto the wire rack to cool completely, once cool cut into bars or squares and ENJOY…….

Image

A Dorie Greenspan  recipe.

10 thoughts on “Chewy, Chunky Blondies

Leave a Reply

