Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Skillet (” Pizookie”)

Image

Today my younger daughter made a pizookie for me. A few days back when I was quite unwell and was in bed I had seen it on one of the blogs and as she was right next to me on bed that night I had told her I would love to eat this, well I got better and somehow I completely forgot about it but I guess she remembered and this is my daughters unconditional love and warmth in form of a pizookie. I am so blessed to have such wonderful girls and I just want to say I love you so much!!

As you can see in the pictures she has made the pizookie in a round cake pan not in a skillet as she was very unsure about using one but still it did turn out amazing, and as the temperature here is so hot its unbelievable (45 degree centigrade) that the poor kids chocolate chips melted as soon as she mixed them with the cookie dough so the cookie turned out so brown but I loved it.

Image

Image

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

14 tablespoon unsalted butter, divided

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

1 cup chocolate chips

Ice cream, for serving

Preheat the oven to 180 degree centigrade. lightly coat 2 5-inch cast iron skillets with non-stick spray.In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Melt 10 tablespoons butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Cook, whisking constantly, until foam subsides and the butter turns a golden brown its going to take about 3 minutes or so. Remove from heat, strain through a fine sieve. Stir in the remaining 4 tablespoons butter until completely melted then whisk in both the sugars and vanilla extract until well combined. Now add the flour mixture, beat until just incorporated and finally fold in the chocolate chips.

Divide mixture into the prepared skillets and place in the oven and bake until edges turn golden brown but centre is still moist, around 12-15 minutes. Serve immediately, topped with ice cream.

Image

 

ENJOY….

Recipe source Damn Delicious.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Skillet (” Pizookie”)

Leave a Reply

