Swedish Summer Cake

unnamed-1
I am grieving and I cannot stop thinking and feeling the hurt, I truly want this to end because to think of someone like this is painful. I always felt I was very strong but it is slowly slipping out of my hands how much can one think about love and loss? I think that is all I do these days just mourn my loss and think that this can’t be happening but then how the mighty fall so self assured, so sure about everything, and the worst part is I cannot possibly blame God as he really has given me a lot in all terms possible but then if he is taking this one thing from me he is shaking my faith.
As of now in my life I feel food is the only thing that is true to itself its comforting it makes me feel happy even if it is only for few minutes and the whole day I just want to dig my fork in comfort food which sure is super fattening and the biggest enemy to my waistline but I can’t be bothered all I want to do is feel happy which is a very far fetched thought.

unnamed-2

unnamed-4

INGREDIENTS
For the vanilla custard
2 egg yolks
2 x 15ml tablespoons castor sugar
2 teaspoon cornflour
250 ml full-fat milk
1/2 vanilla pod

Put everything in a pot and cook it over low heat to medium heat, keep stirring continuously until it starts to thicken do see to it that your custard does not boil. As soon as it thickens take it off the flame and transfer it to a glass bowl and stir it for a few minutes, now cover your custard with the cling film touching the surface of the custard as you do not want the custard to get a skin as it cools.

For the Cake
3 eggs
250gm castor sugar
90ml hot water
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
150gm plain flour
butter for greasing

Preheat the oven to a 180 degree centigrade and line the bottom of your round 6 inches cake tin with baking parchment and butter the sides well.
In a medium size bowl whisk the eggs and sugar together briskly until its pale and mousse like and has doubled in volume. Now add the hot water still whisking but more gently. In another glass bowl mix the baking powder and flour together and gradually whisk this in too, scrape down the sides once or twice and see that there are no lumps.
Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake in the preheated oven for half an hour or until a cake tester comes out clean and the cake is golden and well risen.
Let the cake stand in the tin on a wire rack to cool down completely and then carefully unmould it.

Getting the Strawberries ready yum…yum…yum!
750gm strawberries
4 teaspoons castor sugar

Take around 250gms of strawberries and keep them aside I know they are extremely juicy and you are very tempted to put a few in your mouth but please just wait okay,hull the remaining 500gm strawberries I cut them in long thin slices so that I get a nice and even layer in the middle of each cake layer sprinkle with sugar shake the bowl well and leave it for an hour or so.

For the whipped cream
400ml of double cream
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and I also put a big tablespoon of icing sugar in it as I wanted my whipped cream sweet.

Whisk the double cream and vanilla extract and the icing sugar together until it holds peaks when you lift your beater.Fold a third of your whisked cream into fully cool custard you made earlier.

To assemble the cake
Take out a bread knife and slice your cake horizontally into 3 layers, put one cake layer on your serving platter and top with half the vanilla custard cream, then arrange half the macerating strawberries on top let them peep out from the sides, now put the second layer of cake and repeat as before with the rest of vanilla custard cream and the strawberries.
Set the third cake layer on top and cover it with the remaining whipped cream and arrange the reserved strawberries on top of your cake which ever way you like.
ENJOY…..

unnamed

Its a Nigella Lawson recipe

2 thoughts on “Swedish Summer Cake

Leave a Reply

