Buttermilk Pancakes

unnamed-1

I went ahead and got my hair chopped today, yes the long tresses have gone and I have much shorter hair, till my shoulders and I am excited and happy with my new look though my friends can’t stop gasping and telling me how could I chop off such lovely hair 🙂 ha ha ha well what can I say I am fickle. To celebrate my new look my daughter (the younger one) and I decided we are going to have pancakes for dinner with chocolate chips and maybe a scoop of vanilla ice-cream on top of it YUM!!

Nyonika my younger daughter loves everything sweet and yes pancakes are one of her favourite food. Well the kids enjoyed pancakes with ice cream and then we went for a drive and had more Ice cream, one of my new year resolutions is to loose weight and if I continue to eat like this and craving all kind of sweets I think I will be putting on more weight rather than loosing it but what is done is done and I am seriously going on a diet tomorrow.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all – purpose flour, sifted

1/2 cup caster sugar

3 teaspoons baking powder, sifted

1 egg

1 1/4 cups of milk

3/4 cup buttermilk

75g butter, melted plus more for the pan

In a large bowl place the flour, baking powder and sugar. Now in a separate bowl whisk together the egg, milk, butter and buttermilk until combined. Add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and whisk until smooth.

Heat a non-stick pan over medium-low- heat and butter it very lightly. Pour 1/4 cup of the mixture at a time into the pan and cook until bubbles appear on the surface ( at this point my daughter and I sprinkled a lot of chocolate chips on it) and turn the pancake and cook it until golden. Serve in small stacks with maple syrup.

You can add on fresh fruits like bananas or blueberries my personal favourite is strawberries.

unnamed

ENJOY……..

9 thoughts on “Buttermilk Pancakes

Leave a Reply

