Peanut butter hummus

unnamed-8

I love hummus, all kinds. To have a batch of gorgeously smooth delicious and so chic a dip stacked away safely in your fridge is  so comforting. When ever one has friends over for drinks just bring this elegant ooh!! so smooth and rich dip out and you have a show stopper and all your friends keep constantly asking you how did you make it? Can I have the recipe? Well I am even happier when I get to eat the whole batch by myself, spreading it over toast, dipping my tortilla chips in it and even making seriously delicious and super healthy sandwiches with it which are my elder daughters favourite.( I will post them soon )

Some people might think that hummus with peanut butter will have a very kindergarten appeal only the kids will like it but my dear friend you are so wrong here, this stuff is too good to be true. Nigella Lawson is one of my favourite food writers and when ever I want something very comforting and I know my kids would love it I just open one of her books. I did not use any greek yoghurt as her recipe suggests as I did not feel the need for it, my hummus was the right consistency and so rich and smooth it was perfect. I have been making this hummus for some time now and it is my families favourite.

unnamed-9

INGREDIENTS

400gm boiled chickpeas (do not discard the water in which it is boiled)

7-8 cloves of garlic, peeled

2 tablespoon olive oil

A heaping tablespoon of smooth creamy peanut butter

15ml tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice, or more as needed

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 /2 teaspoon smoked paprika, to serve

salt to taste

Put the chickpeas (along with some of the water that it was boiled in), garlic cloves, 2 tablespoon olive oil, peanut butter, lemon juice, cumin and salt into a food processor and blitz to a smooth puree. If the hummus is still very thick add some more of your chickpea  water and just blitz again. if you wish you can add greek yoghurt instead of chickpea water.

Taste for seasoning add more lemon juice or salt or cumin if you feel it needs it.

Plate hummus and drizzle top with 1 tablespoon olive oil then sprinkle with paprika. Serve with fresh veggies or pita chips, crackers anything that you wish.

unnamed-10

ENJOY……………..

Adapted from Nigella Lawson’s cook book Kitchen.

6 thoughts on “Peanut butter hummus

Leave a Reply

