Strawberry Ice Cream made with fresh Strawberries

unnamed

I love ice cream, and as I write this post I am jumping with joy licking ice cream from my plate and my spoon and just being happy. Strawberry ice cream is my husbands favourite and this ice cream is specially for him,  I remember 18 years ago when we had just got married my husband and I would go out everyday and we would have ice cream, trust me he always only and only wanted to have strawberry ice cream and his love affair with it has not ended still. He now also loves ice creams that have a lot of nuts in them but strawberry ice cream still remains on the top, so when I was crossing the fruit market today I saw this man who had bags full of these lovely berries I immediately knew I wanted to buy them for making ice cream.

Ice cream is one of my favourite foods too. I eat it a lot, on an average at least five times a week sometimes as many as seven. Even when I was in my school my mom was very particular so I would eat healthy stuff the whole day and in the night I would just eat ice cream.

The ice cream is so incredibly rich and creamy with little chunks of juicy strawberries just adding so much of flavour and sweetness its completely satisfying. I have not used any egg yolks in the ice cream as I have just followed my moms simple recipe and the result is a-ma-zing!!!

unnamed-1

unnamed-4

INGREDIENTS

4 cups heavy cream

2 cup whole milk

350gm -375gm sugar

pinch of salt

2-3 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 cups of fresh strawberries, stemmed and very finely chopped

Put your chopped strawberries in a glass bowl and refrigerate them so that they are absolutely chilled when you use them.

In a large bowl, combine the cream and milk, add the sugar and a pinch of salt and whisk the mixture until the sugar dissolves completely. Now let the mixture sit for half an hour so that all the flavours blend together, cover and refrigerate the mixture until extremely chilled for 4-5 hours or overnight.

After your milk/cream mixture is chilled put it into your ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers instructions. When your ice cream is nearly frozen and the mixture looks like very thick whipped cream add your chilled strawberries and churn well but do not over do it, it has to blend perfectly. Transfer your ice cream to an air tight container and freeze it until firm, let it rest at room temperature for few minutes before serving for optimal results.

unnamed-3

ENJOY…………………..

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Ice Cream made with fresh Strawberries

Leave a Reply

